Romania: Part One

I’ve been in Romania for a couple of weeks, and I have to say I’ve rather enjoyed myself so far. In part, of course this is due to my most fabulous host, who is wonderful, without peer, and definitely not totally certain to read this entry.

Smoothly done. *fist pump* 

Arriving to Bucharest was slightly worrying to begin with, as I noticed a police car’s lights and uniformed officers arriving at the plane before I’d even gotten my luggage out of the rack, but it turns out it was entirely uneventful, as the person that was sitting directly behind me was suddenly handcuffed and led out of the back of the plane, despite there being no incidents on the plane. I guess it was the kind of international prisoner transfer you might see in the media. The things some people will do to get off the plane first, eh?

As a person careful with money, (some might even say ‘miserly’ or ‘scrooge-like’) I do appreciate that nearly everything is cheaper over here. Basically everything is priced around what seems between at best ‘great price!’ to worst ‘hmm, seems reasonable’. It feels nice to, for example, go to see a film, get popcorn, a drink and an ice cream for less that the price of a ‘meal deal’ in a Cineworld or such.

I like all the fruit. It’s trivial to pick up terrific fruit for next to nothing, and (I guess? I’m not a fruit scientist) since it’s closer to the source, they all taste better than the average UK fruits too. People from outside the UK always used to tell me about watermelon being great, but any time I’ve tried it before it’s been quite underwhelming-to-bad. But here, I’ve eaten a ton of the stuff, and it’s a similar story with apricots, cherries etc. I suppose ‘just be tastier’ was a good enough reason to make my choice of snacks healthier than before.

I could get used to this.

-S.M.

One thought on “Romania: Part One

Leave a Reply

